Nominations open for 2023 WasteSorted Awards

14 March 2023

Western Australia's waste champions can now nominate for the 2023 WasteSorted Awards.

  • Annual awards celebrate leaders in the waste and recycling industry
  • Individuals, businesses, governments, schools and community groups to apply
  • New Closing the Loop Award to promote circular economy initiatives

The annual awards celebrate outstanding achievements and innovative solutions to reduce, reuse and recycle waste.


This year, there are 10 categories with a new Closing the Loop Award to recognise initiatives that promote a circular economy.


The award categories include:

  • Community Waste Award
  • Schools Award
  • Business Award
  • Waste Champion Individual Award
  • Waste Champion Team Award
  • Metro Local Government/Regional Council Award
  • Regional Local Government/Regional Council Award
  • Community Engagement Award
  • Innovation Award
  • Closing the Loop Award


Nominations close 5pm on Friday 19 May 2023. Winners will be announced at a gala dinner awards ceremony in September to coincide with the Waste and Recycle Conference.


For more details or to apply, visit


Comments attributed to Environment Minister Reece Whitby:


"This a great opportunity to acknowledge the hard work of our waste warriors, while motivating others to reduce, reuse and recycle.


"We want Western Australians to continue exploring innovative ways to manage and reduce waste and share their success stories.


"The WasteSorted Awards not only celebrate our waste champions but inspire others to follow in their footsteps."


Minister's office - 6552 6300